ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Across the way

I didn't have far to go to my early evening engagement on the other side of OC. You can see the reflections of where I had come from. I was attending an event about a new book mainly organised for Oxford graduates in Edinburgh, but opened up to fellow book group members by organiser MH. But then at the end, she mentioned that the Oxford graduate society in Edinburgh was thinking of setting up a book group. I say, people. Loyalty, and all that!

Anyway, the event was excellent and the book reminded me of Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel, which I read at the beginning of last year. Sci Fi, that isn't really sci fi, and is unclassifiable as 'genre' (see also other works by Emily St John Mandel which I have read since then). We read an earlier book of Alice Thompson's about seven years ago. I have no memory of reading it although it is on my kindle, but blip tells me I enjoyed it. Yay, for blip! I think I will read Chimera at some point but I have a lot on my plate at present.

Earlier, I had various bits and pieces to surmount, and then an afternoon chairing interviews for another School. It was interesting, as always.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.