twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

With the League 2 title firmly in the bag, it was time to turn my attention to reducing my Munros Still To Do list. 

Backstory - on my 40th birthday I had exactly 200 Munros still to do; I calculated (using a complex logarithm) that if I did 10 a year I could compleat on / around 60. Which was going fine; almost ahead of schedule - until - Covid lockdown. Progress has been slow since then; partly due to physically not being able to get to climb hills for a fair while; and also fitness suffered too. There's one thing that keeps you hill fit and that's walking up  big hills. 

I was faintly heartened that on the day of Her Maj's funeral, I managed Aonach Mhor and Aonach Beag without too much grief, but the Easter weekend trip to Glenfinnan was a wake up call; the 25km around the horseshoe there left me wondering about taking on the bigger days in the wilder country of the far NW which is where the majority of my To Do Munros are.

So with the coronation weekend, I set up a programme of fitness training - pick a bunch of the easiest Munros I have left to do and try and rattle round them in successive days and see how I survive.

Having punted the boys off to school, I popped down to Leith and set about getting us a van, fetching Her and the hound and heading off to the Highlands.

We eventually rolled up in Arnisdale; a delightful West Coast village that faces into Knoydart; and Beinn Sgritheal rises up behind it - from sea level to 3000-odd feet in fairly quick order. 

Setting off at 1645, me and the hound set off upwards and in decent time we had hit the summit ridge; views across to Ladhar Bheinn and Knoydart, Eigg and Rhum away across the water, Glen Sheil to the north, the Cuillins too across the sea. Not a soul did we see. 

By 2030 we were back; relocated the van a further mile to Corran and the absolute end of the road and availed ourselves of the facilities at the Ceildh House (toilets, hot running water, a picnic bench, plugs to charge the phones)

2 other vans were there, and a peaceful night was had by all (once Loki had got over the red deer on the beach just outside)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.