OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Breaker and seal

I was planning to head out on the wee Octo bus but realised that it doesn't run on bank holidays like today, so when I heard of a rare bird turning up on Westray, I thought I'd head over and see if I could track it down, even if this is a bit 'twitchy'. It was a woodchat shrike, which I've never seen, but it was also of a sub-species from the Balearic islands off Spain. Some overshoot! It must have been wondering what had happened to the sun and nice temperatures, and why was there a constant, howling gale? That wind really did not help when I got to the golf course near the village of Pierowall, where the bird was spotted. I scoured the area, especially in the lee of dunes etc. but no sign.
There was, though, a really nice pale-phase arctic skua swooping over the golf course. I walked west toward Our Ness and saw about 4 wheatears and 3-5 snow buntings, one of which was a male in striking summer plumage.
Near the ness I saw a family of four ravens. I walked up the hill a little to
photograph some old farm machinery draped in old net, which was fortunate for
the young raven I found there with its leg badly entangled in the net. I was
able to cut the net away and the leg did not show any obvious breaks. The net
looked very old and the material may not have been as abrasive as a newer one.
It didn't seem to have any control of the leg but that may have just been
numbing from the constriction. The wings seemed ok. It didn't fly away
immediately but may just have been too tired from its struggles. When I left, it
seemed bright enough, with its head high and looking toward the family along the
cliff. The seal in the photo was one of about eight at Narr Ness. I liked the way it is looking at the big wave and is probably thinking 'oh-oh'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.