Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Chasing Blues

Thankfully, it’s been un uneventful day - a chance to catch my breath and try to gain some energy. 

It would be delightful to read while lying in the hammock, but we’re having work done in the garden - our old decking is at long last being replaced. In the absence of an opportunity for travel, we’re investing in our outdoor area, hoping that we’ll have the weather to enjoy it. But of course, this means it’s hardly a relaxing place to sit right now. 

So there’s a short excursion to the reserve at Conwy, and a slow meditative walk.  The pace is ideal for focusing on the ‘little things’ - the tiny flowers and insects, leaves caught in the sunlight. 

I’m thrilled to spot another butterfly - I’m sadly obsessed after last year’s dearth. This time it’s a tiny blue, flitting constantly. I’ve almost resigned myself to aiming for an inflight shot, when it decides to land giving me the chance to get a few quick shots. I’m terrible at identifying blues, but think it may be a holly rather than a common? 

Venturing further, I hope that I’ll see more, but other than some distant sightings, there’s nothing. Still, by the pond there are a few tiny damsels - none close enough or still enough to capture - but giving welcome promise for the future. 

Thanks so much for your sympathy and understanding in response to yesterday’s rants - it’s much appreciated. Thanks also for your kind response to my Carneddau foal. 

Inevitably, the tiny blue’s my main today - but should it be the head-on, direct view, or the more usual side profile? I think I like the former, but I’m interested to know your views! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.