earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

At the Double

I've started reading a book called 'The Race Against Time: Adventures in Late-Life Running' by Richard Askwith. It's an odd hotchpotch of a book but, that said, I struggled to put it down. There were loads of interesting take-aways, perhaps the biggest being that we should not underestimate what we're capable of as we get older. For those of us who have drawn a decent card in the genetic lottery and continue to enjoy good health into our sixties and beyond, there is no reason why we shouldn't be capable of significantly improving our physical fitness - with huge knock-on benefits to our more general health. I've been inspired.

That might have something to do with why a planned 5 mile run doubled to a 10 miler today. After 5 miles yesterday, with some efforts, I might have normally taken a rest today. As it turned out, I felt good all the way around. What a difference to a few weeks ago when I was struggling with nothing in the legs at all. I stopped at the Doubler Stones to get the camera out. It seemed appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.