earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Jedi Survivor

I think this guy is the type who could survive anything!

I romped through 'The Race Against Time'. It's a bit heavy on numbers and times but contains some truly wonderful and inspiring stories, scarcely believable stories. Everyone has their own method, some wildly opposite approaches to training. It's a case of whatever works. But there are some key points that are hard to argue with.

For myself, I'm doing lots of things right, but the lesson is that I'm not going to improve my fitness by just running the way I do, enjoying steady runs over the fells. That doesn't work my muscles in a sufficient range. I need to introduce some intensity, some speed sessions, some running that's going to hurt like hell. And then some strength and mobility work on top of that. I've never ever been scientific about my running. Inspired by Forrest and now reading the hard evidence, I'm committing here to give it a go, a kind of experiment, to see what I can still get out of myself. I'm declaring here, for the record, that I want to run a parkrun at 70 (3 years time), faster than I did this one three and half years ago. I think that might be possible. The great thing about Blip is that this ambition will be recorded here for posterity. It will be fascinating to see how I look back on this particular post. Wish me luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.