earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Wessenden

It was the perfect walk for Whiskey, a circular to Marsden and back from Wessenden Head, taking in no less than seven reservoirs and numerous bathing pools. He was utterly in his element. We walked 10 miles. He must have walked and run at least thirty. This was the first time I'd seen him get genuinely tired. On his leash up the final hill, I sensed that it had gone slack and he was no longer pulling. I took over and started to jog. As usual, he increased his pace to match mine but after a hundred yards he stopped and decided to wait for his people to catch up. He'd had enough. I actually managed to bring him to a standstill! I was happy enough to stop there too. After yesterday's long run, I was happy to walk the rest of the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.