Horse Chestnuts...

...possibly planted 100 years ago, to line the drive that led down to the chocolate factory, known first under the name of J.S. Fry and Sons, and then Cadbury’s, with construction starting in 1922. The factory closed in 2011, and these magnificent trees now lead down to the Chocolate Quarter.

Ignoring everybody’s advice, I walked down to visit Dad this morning, and stayed for four hours. I’m really glad I did as I was able to report that his bedroom phone isn’t working (and still isn’t), sign him up for a host of activities (we should’ve been given the list on Tuesday), and sort regular exercise sessions with the physio (who hadn’t receive the exercise plan that I’d emailed to the home last week). If I hadn’t gone in none of this would’ve happened.

Before leaving, I decorated Dad’s room with post-it notes so he knows how to operate the tv, shower etc, and took him out for half hour of fresh air, which he really enjoyed, along the old railway line that used to link the factory to the main line. When I left he was much happier, as was I. So hopefully, after three sleepless nights, I will finally get some sleep tonight, much needed as I’m off on a mini adventure tomorrow. As yesterday, a muggy 19 degrees this afternoon.

Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.