The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Learning Curve

I'm going through the Patch Archives to choose images I'd like to print and prep for hand tinting/painting. This afternoon I printed out a photograph I had taken  back when I still lived and worked in Maine. I was in Thomaston that day and this is the Olsen homestead (think Andrew Wyeth and "Christina's World").

There are days when I miss that bit of rocky coastline ... a lot 

1. Some went down to the sea in small wooden boats, 
Some worked the dirt on the farm, 
Some worked in the woods, some worked in the  mills,
Some lived out their lives in the cities and towns.

(Chorus) 
They all stood together
Faced the hardship, the tides and the weather,
With the salt in their blood and the strength of God's earth in their bones.
A life that's unforgiving but a life that was damn well worth living,
And they loved that rocky old hardscrabble patch they called home.


 ... and the adventure through the viewfinder continues. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.