The Lumberman's Monument

Before we headed home with the rest of the residents of Michigan, Lisa and I visited the Lumberman's Monument, down the road from Oscoda, Michigan.

It has been in place since 1931. For us that are mathematically challenged...that's 82 years old. It was designed by Robert Aitken, and in 1931, it cost 50,000 dollars.

From left to right...it is a river rat holding his peavey, a timber cruiser with his compass, and a sawyer with his ax. I got parallel with the sidewalk to take the shot. When I tried to get up...it felt like I was the one cast in bronze.

It was a fun weekend. It could have been 10-15 degrees warmer, but the sun stayed out most of the time.

My son Jeff pulled off the good deed of the weekend. When I dropped a family group off for some kayaking...I saw 4 women taking off on the river. One said..."Ooooh, this is fun." Another said..."Ooooh...I don't know if I can do this!"

She couldn't. She turned the boat over.

Jeff and his cousin came upon the scene. Jeff gathered the boat up, falling backwards into the water twice. He finally got it over to the bank, and emptied it out. The girls went on their way, thanking him profusely. Jeffy...the Kayak Krusader. Saving the damsel in distress da-boat.

I put a few other shots on my FLICKR PAGE...among them the world's largest crucifix. A 31 foot bronze of Christ on a 50 foot wooden cross. (Along with some other Up-Northy shots.)

Will catch up tomorrow. It is late, and we're going to bed.

I back-blipped a bon-fire for yesterday. There is no internet in 'dem north woods.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.