Marionb

By Marionb

The Plumber Cometh...

An unexpected "day at home" to await the arrival of the plumber - he who would save the day and get that darned gas stove working again...and he did. I am not exactly sure how, as the last time I saw him, he was sprawled on the kitchen floor having emptied the cupboard next to the stove and removed the baseboard under it...Seems there is a tap somewhere under there that needed to be turned? Who cares? We now have a flame! 

I spent the day at home trying to not keep my nose in my computer but, instead, to do at least one sketch and then work on catching up in my written journal/scrapbook; I find that if I do not keep it up-to-date, I have trouble remembering what I did - even the day before! 

I do use my journals, not just to browse through and remember a trip - I have photo books for that - but to refer to them when planning my next one! Sometimes it is the little details that are ever so meaningful later..like how to get out of the Toulouse airport and onto the freeway (I have used that one a few times!) Little irritations that could be avoided next time - like bring ZipLock bags!  The items frequently missing in a rental cottage - now THAT is irritating!...(coming from overseas, we can't easily bring kitchen items or linens!) And, so important... what clothing worked, ( raincoat) and what never got used (sandals) And why oh why did I take knitting when for the last two trips I have never had the time or energy to knit in the evenings!  And of course, the names and addresses of new acquaintances..as I do follow up on them! I love meeting new people and keeping in touch... 

So, despite not going on any outings, the day was not wasted. I did get caught up in my journal, and I did do a sketch, but I didn't take any photos. Hence... an emergency blip...it had to be my journal.

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.