Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Mighty oaks.....

....from little acorns grow.

Walking up to the paper shop through the woodland last Autumn I picked up a couple of acorns.  When I got home I planted them in a pot with some compost and left them to it.  I didn't really expect much to happen but today I noticed that they are both starting to grow.  This one is about 5cms tall and has grown a few small leaves, whilst the other is only about 3cms  but looks like it might produce its first leaf soon.  It would be nice if they grew sufficiently that I could plant them out in the garden; I somehow think that by the time they grow big enough to be a problem it'll be someone else's problem, not mine!

Another day of weeding; all done now.  We've put down fertiliser and watered it in, and tomorrow we will start mulching with compost.  It's looking better already so we'll really have to try and keep on top of it now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.