iaint

By iaint

Impulse

If it is Saturday, it must be a Parkrun Blip. 

This morning I meandered over to Loch Leven to re-visit that one. I have not abandoned my home Parkrun, but others produce a wee bit more of a challenge. I am not so familiar with the course, so pacing myself is more difficult. I do not know any of the other runners, so I cannot tag along with someone I know is about my level. 

It certainly was a challenge for me this morning. I had a quiet night last night, and went to bed at my normal time. However, this did not seem to help when it came to running. For whatever reason, the formula of a busy Friday evening, a later bedtime and less sleep appears to benefit me more.

I was faster than the first time I ran Loch Leven, but almost a minute slower than last week at Lochore Meadows.

I still enjoyed it, and that is the main thing. 

My Blip is Loch Leven's Larder which adjoins the Parkrun course and volunteers its toilets for the runners in exchange for them spending cash on coffee and food after the run. 

It sells all kinds of upmarket over-priced deli type food, and this morning I thought I should buy a croissant as a token of my gratitude - even although I did not have to use the facilities. 

I ended up with 2 croissants, a baguette, a bit of quiche and a piece of frittata. Well, it all looked so good... The baguette was still warm, and getting it home in one piece was a minor triumph. 

Now it is time to head for the kitchen to make a beetroot salad to eat with some of my treats. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.