iaint

By iaint

Gloom

My day has been productive and useful. I did all the things on my list. 

Unfortunately I have struggled to feel positive. I reckon the weather has caused most of that. It has been a day of dark clouds and occasional drizzle - which might have been mist. It was so light that even my iPhone's weather app did not pick it up. 

The other likely cause is me realising - prompted by a random YouTube clip I looked at this morning - that it was 50 years ago yesterday when I broke my wrist playing rugby in Toulouse. Ironically, having emerged unscathed from a few brutal championship games, the injury came along in a friendly match which was also the last of the season. 

I spent the next morning (Sunday 21 May 1973) in accident & emergency at Purpan Hospital. 6 weeks in a plaster cast followed, with no work and no exercise. My wrist healed perfectly, but I got a bit chubby in those 6 weeks, for the first time in my life. 

The 50 year anniversary realisation made me feel old. 

By tomorrow I will be back just focussing on my gratitude for being able to trundle around a Parkrun at my age. 

My Blip is just the gardens in front of the library, looking gloomy but nice too (if that makes sense).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.