Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Cornwall Adventure Day 2 - Eden Project

Today I visited the Eden Project,  a world renowned experimental garden built in disused china clay quarry. It is most famous for its biomes with their enclosed botanical environments including the world's largest indoor rain forest.  I last visited with my parents soon after it fully opened in 2001. A year later the biomes featured in the James Bond movie Die Another Day.


The site has developed somewhat since those days, and inevitably today highlights the impact of climate change and the environment. The planting in the biomes is also much more lush than in those early days, especially in the rain forest biome.  I had wanted to experience the latest feature, a viewing platform at the top of a biome of the rain forest. However I was really feeling the heat by the time I reached the entrance, and at 30+ degrees, and 50+ humidity at the top, I decided to give it a miss. I really enjoyed the rest of the exhibits so didn't feel too let down, and as my ticket allows re-entry for a year I have a perfect excuse to return sometime when it maybe a bit cooler!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.