Tourist

By tourist

Duck Rescue!

What a bizarre day i've had.

I set off from my flat earlier on today armed with my camera. After arriving in the city centre i took a walk along George Street and spotted a tram worker guiding a duck and it's ducklings off Frederick Street. Amused by this i thought i'd hang around a little bit to see what might happen. The duck and ducklings were guided onto the street where myself and a few other people created a little group around the ducks to prevent them heading to George Street. If they had gone to George Street they would have more than likely been run down.

Within the next 30 minutes a large group of people flocked around the birds amused by the fact that they were in the city centre having a wee wander.

The SSPCA had been called out and within a short period of time they arrived and managed to capture the animals safely. It was a bit of a scene though, the group that arrived around the birds had got progressively large and i'd say there was about 30 spectators at it's peak. When the SSPCA arrived to capture the birds they started off with the duck which then caused the ducklings to scatter everywhere, some even venturing onto the Frederick street. With the ducklings people then ran onto the road to save them ignoring the limited traffic there was.

It was comical, but very interesting too.

I was informed during the event that we were to keep the duck and ducklings there not only for the SSPCA but the Edinburgh Evening News who had shown an interest in the story. When the action had finished one of the spectators came up to me and suggested i contacted the Edinburgh Evening News as she had noticed me snapping away consistently during the action. Shortly after i went home and contacted the Edinburgh Evening news and to cut a long story short they are supposed to be printing some of my photos on page 3 of the paper next Monday.

After all this happened i made my way towards Princes Street and came across a band performing called Clanadonia. It was here i believe i spotted another blipper taking my other potential blips. I am going to wait and see if he has submitted the photograph before i name names, however if you do happen to read this then let me know if it was you i saw.

Clanadonia, for the record were amazing. I loved the songs they played and would love to see them perform again sometime. Fingers crossed they turn up to Edinburgh and put on a street performance like that again.

I hope you all had a good day today.

You can see other photographs taken today of the duck rescue on my Flickr.

I will be submitting other photographs taken today shortly, however not in that Flickr Set. So check them out later if you get a chance.

Can i also take this opportunity to ask for you to all donate money to Cancer Research UK for i am to take part in the Walk for Scotland on Sunday. If you are willing to donate then please visit my Just Giving page.

Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.