Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Leopard Lacewing

The season has begun at the Tropical Butterfly House in Victoria Park - at least the first butterflies have hatched and are enjoying the environment so far. We had our first delivery of pupae last Thursday when I was away, so it was quite exciting to see them all pinned up and watch them emerging today. Things are coming along nicely and we had a volunteer recruitment day today where potential newbies were asked to fill in a form and were shown around our little house and garden to see if they wanted to help out this season.  We had a few interested parties, so hopefully we will be able to interest a few more locals to volunteer on a regular basis. 
We have one more recruitment day on Wednesday and then a mass training session next Sunday, ready for the grand opening on Bank Holiday Monday. 

I didn't get much chance to take pictures today, but this Leopard Lacewing was posing nicely just waiting for me to snap him. I'm sure you will be seeing lots more species this summer as and when I can get there in between vacations! 

After my shift I had a quick shower before meeting the family for a birthday lunch for my younger brother in Warrington. It was Tapas, which isn't my favourite type of food, but it was OK and always nice to catch up with the family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.