Thunder Road

I wonder what the collective noun for a group of Kawasaki ZZR1400s is. A Roar? A Power? A Speed? My choice would be “A Thunder” as a group of these rumbling past would certainly have you glancing at the sky.
The owners were all enjoying a coffee around the corner and, from their manner of dress, were out for a leisurely ride through the Lakes rather than a flat out blast. Nice bikes, but not really my cup of tea. I prefer big twins (V, Parallel or Boxer, I’m not picky) rather than inline fours, as the latter can be a bit “revvy” Though maybe not a 1400, to be fair. But I did have a Kawasaki ZZR600 back in the day - my first “proper” bike after passing my test.
Mrs C and I toured Europe on it twenty five years ago and, though it was reasonably comfortable, you really had to wring its neck to get the full performance. Not that I had a problem with that, but it could get a bit wearing on long stretches of Autoroute. Mind, at least you were on a straight then. Those ZZRs were renowned for a fairly crappy rear shock, and two up with luggage did nothing to improve matters. Roundabouts were usually accompanied by a scrape of the centre stand at even quite slow speeds. Mountain roads with hairpins were “interesting” to say the least. Didn’t stop us heading up into the Alps though!
We should have been on the final night out of our holiday tonight, but it was cancelled and rescheduled for October. Instead we had a very pleasant walk into town for a coffee this morning and some light gardening in the afternoon. I levelled the weeds - mowing the lawn is far too grandiose a description for what is involved in trimming the green bits at the front and rear of our house - and it does look a lot better for it.
It was nice to have tea at a sensible time though, and it’s really rather pleasant just having a quiet night in watching the telly. I don’t think there’s a lot planned for next week but, with good weather forecast, I think I really should get my motorbike out of the garage and back on the roads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.