SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Satish Kumar and St.John’s Well

At last, the purpose of this trip. I have wanted to see Satish Kumar for longer than I can remember and today it happened as I had got a ticket for his talk at Bude Lit Fest. 

On my way back I went for a walk at Morwenstow and a chap clearing the drains showed me the holy well near the church.  https://www.megalithic.co.uk/article.php?sid=8159
I asked about St. Morwenna’s which I had read was no longer accessible. He knew of it but had never seen it. I decided to go on a scout but after thrashing around through briars and brash on precipitous cliff edges I decided to abandon the idea and walked to Hawkers Hut (extra). On my way back I met the lovely young farmer, Jack, who said his mum had taken him to the well when he was a boy but that he didn’t think you could get there now. He took the trouble to show me a photo of the photo of it that he had on his phone. What a sweetie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.