SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

St.Milburga’s Well

https://www.megalithic.co.uk/article.php?sid=11446#:~:text=Milborough%27s%20Well%3B%20a%20spring%2C%20having,old%20stone%20basin%20at%20St.

After a disturbed night where I ended up, at around 2am, shouting across to the humongous tent marquee that had pitched rather close to mine, to shut up, I packed up and headed off. I turned off the M5 to avoid a congested M6 and did the sensible thing and took the holy well route. It extended the journey time but, along the lines of a well known advert … it is a well known fact, universally acknowledged, that holy well journeys take you to parts that other journeys cannot reach. This was a remote, tiny hamlet, in the middle of nowhere that felt completely lost in time. I meandered around the church but couldn’t find any indication of the well. There was an elderly lady blithely strimming the front of her garden so I asked her and she sent me off along a verdantly overgrown footpath full of campion, stitchwort and bluebells, up to a tiny lane, doubling back and through a gate with a metalwork gooseneck and head for a handle and then down some shady steps to this copious and vigorous well, complete with clooties! 
Definitely beats spaghetti junction.
That’s six holy wells in six days …!! Do I get my Brownie badge, freespiral? : )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.