CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Goose eggs at the Bisley Farm Shop

I dropped Woodpeckers off to catch her train this morning, despite the fact that I would be driving to London as well later this afternoon. It isn't often either of us go to London, so it seemed strange to be going completely independently, with different places to stay and stuff to be done.

I went shopping after leaving the station and stocked up on some necessities. Then I drove the three miles up and out of the valley to Bisley, where I needed to stock up on bird food! Not environmentally sustainable I must admit, but we do love to see the birds when they are attracted to eat with us. In the last couple of days, the woodpecker has been relentlessly pecking away at suet and peanuts, so I suspect little woodpeckers are on the way. Last year we had the delight of the parent woodpecker bringing a young bird to the feeders to show it how to grab the food, before stuffing it into it's youngster's mouth.

I must admit that my visits to the Stancombe Beech Farm shop are always a delight as I am always made welcome by all the family as are all customers. Today I asked if I could take some pictures in the shop, since it was pouring with rain outside, and I knew my chances of a picture en route to London seemed slim. Sally, who is one of the extended family which owns and works the farm, asked what it was for, so I explained about blip and suggested that she take a look. Then one of her brothers, Keith, popped in from the yard to have a coffee break out of the rain. He likes taking pictures and always carries a pocket camera with him in case he spots an owl or some odd moment around the farm. He too may take a look and may even become a blipper.

I was in a bit of a rush, so I started snapping away and these goose eggs grabbed my attention. A customer then brought in these runner bean plants which were grown in the farm's poly tunnels for sale. Don't they look beautifully green and healthy. I often buy their seedlings for my garden to save time. Keith suggested that I go out to take pictures in the poly tunnel but I said I would take him up on the offer next week. It will be a pleasure to be there again.

When I got home and took this box of suet pellets to the back door, I saw a jay tucking into the seeds on a tray feeder, which is quite a rare sight for us. We hear them calling every day, and I think they must be nesting very nearby, but they are usually quite shy. Today there was no stopping him eating enormous numbers of seeds. A squirrel came to investigate but the jay stood firm. Then a blackbird, some tits and a robin all tried to make their presence felt. The nuthatch kept its distance. What finally made the jay fly away was my opening the back door a bit wider to grab a better shot. Humans must be very annoying when you are trying to have a good meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.