Sunbeams

By Saffi

Borage

Borago officinalis, native to the Mediterranean but grows happily in countries further north. 
 
My father gave me some seed from his garden over 30 years ago and it is still self-seeding happily in my garden, and flowering for most of the year.
It is an amazingly useful plant being edible, the flowers are pretty for decorating salads or freezing in ice-cubes for drinks, the leaves can be eaten raw or cooked.  In the website: Rural Sprout  there are fifteen reasons for growing borage including the gathering of nutrients in the soil and being good for mulching around other plants when chopped up.  The bees love the flowers too.

Tried to finish mowing the lawn but gave up when a piece of wood lodged itself in the blades - I removed it but then could not pull-start the engine afterwards!  The garden is beginning to look like a garden once more but I am definitely pro rewilding parts of it - I have cow parsley, a mound for buttercups, a bed of nettles and two orchids growing in the lawn!!  They appeared last year and are sprouting again but not flowering yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.