Life on the go

By BarryBadcock

60 King Street - Raja was the Earl Grey Pub

60 King Street - Raja was the Earl Grey Pub

The Camera Club is doing a Streets of Cambridge Project to follow up photos taken by club members back in early 2000’s. 

I decided to do King Street.

In my early years my Mum would walk from where we lived down King Street to my Nana’s in Trinity Place most weekdays evenings with me.

Mum went to school in King Street  and most of her family on both sides lived in or off King Street.

From the age of 5,  I would walk to and from my Primary School in Park Street down King Street.

Up to the age of about 22 I had my hair cut in King Street, first at Reeds then at Carters.

It also had the best Fish and Chip Shop near me.

So you could say I have a lot of history with King Street.

When I visited Nana with my Mum, Grandad would be out most nights having a pint at the Earl Grey Pub in King Street. Obviously where I get my drinking like from as both my mum and dad did not drink. 

The image here shows the Raja where the Earl Grey once was. Number  60 Kings Street but was originally Number 34. It was a lovely looking pub with Bright Brown / Red Shiny tiles on the outside wall. I think it closed as a pub about 50 years ago and was a one time a betting shop.

It was of course part of the ‘Famous King Street Run’. Where people would have a pint in each of the King Street Pubs before moving on to the next. There were about 5. It was started in the mid 50’s by students.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.