pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Every Brilliant Thing

I have been for several runs today.

The first was at lunchtime. A 5k which I completed in just under 27 minutes. The fastest I have been in a long while!

The second and all those that followed were as a result of “helping” out at football training. This basically entailed the repeated retrieval of numerous errant footballs from the brambles and stinging nettles behind the goal during a bout of shooting practice.

That said, I did get a run-out in the game at the end and m’boy was delighted to put in a crunching tackle on me.

When the offspring were settled and abed, I found an HBO adaptation/documentary of Every Brilliant Thing and was immediately hooked on its exploration of mental health. I hadn’t heard the story before, but thought the concept of a young boy making a list of every brilliant thing in life to keep his suicidal mother in the world was riveting. And so it proved.

Well worth checking out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.