Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Chez Ali

As somebody commented yesterday, the Rhodys are good this year. I bought this one for Ali and Stuart when they were thinking of moving house, to cheer up a dry corner in the front garden right by her bins. The spot was full of weeds and had been full of builders rubbish for many years I think. I cleared the plot, picked up the plant in B&M garden shop for 5.99 and planted it without any great expectations. It clearly likes its position, it's flowering beautifully with no tlc whatsoever.
Someone commented yesterday, positively, on my heading over to Ali when she needed help. I think I'm particularly aware of being able to help, as neither I, nor my mum had any grandmother input at all. In my mum's case, her mother lived in Wales and my father's mum in Liverpool while we were here in Edinburgh. Grandparents were visited briefly during the summer holidays and that was it! I hardly knew them.
In my own case, my mum died before I had children and dad remarried and moved South. C's family moved up to Banff the year after we got married so again although not so far away, grandparents were not in the doorstop to provide support although our girls knew and love(d) their grandparents.
We are therefore positively revelling in being able to see all 3 girls as often as we, or they, want. Being known by the girls' friends and neighbours, attending school and other events and being able to help out with cover when needed is great. I'm so pleased that our grandchildren have the chance to really know us too.
Like last night, its also wonderful to be able to just drop everything and run to help if need arises. Another one of the boons of having chosen to retire at 60. We do know just how lucky we are too, to have both families settled nearby, both in walking distance (if I really make an effort). If you haven't tried it yet, grandparenting is wonderful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.