Grammy

By Grammy

Farms, Barns and Country Roads

We were up at 6:00 ready to face the long drive. I packed our refrigerated food while hubby stripped the bed. We all ate breakfast and were able to leave at 7:55, maybe a record for departure. I decided to spotlight some of the nearby barns and farms. With blip done, I could nap when necessary. We made stops for birdseed, gasoline, lunch and the occasional rest area. The weather was perfect for driving. Traffic has been light until we got on this road but we’ve hit rush hour outside of DC. My sister and BIL always beat us home. We should get there around 6:00 pm. That is, if these foolish drivers passing people on the left and right shoulders don’t cause an accident. People up here are simply rude and selfish. I will have a quick turn around, adding 5 days’ worth of clothing to my suitcase so I am ready to go to Kim’s to watch Trek and Shadow until Tuesday. Kim and family will leave home around 3:00 am to catch the train to NYC. I pray their trip will be a safe one; crime has skyrocketed in that city. Hope you had a pleasant day. Stay safe. Thanks for the visit and especially for all the kind wishes for my sister. “A farmer travelling with his load Picked up a horseshoe on the road, And nailed if fast to his barn door, That luck might down upon him pour; That every blessing known in life Might crown his homestead and his wife, And never any kind of harm Descend upon his growing farm.” - James Thomas Fields

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.