The Sweet Smell of Spring

It’s been a glorious rainy day and I believe we expect more of the same later in the week. We got up early (again) with no big plans. After breakfast, I got my blip. I am afraid the rain will be hard on my peonies. The blooms will brown and fall off if they get too much rain. Hubby worked at his computer most of the morning. One of the spare bedrooms is our “coming in/going out” staging area. I tackled that today and put away Easter baskets, gift bags, etc. This will be my last year decorating and making table favors for our school graduation breakfast-our last two in Catholic school will be graduating. I started working on the “diplomas” that are at each place setting. They tell me I will need 125. Better get busy, graduation is June 6. Since Kim has COVID, she will not be able to facilitate my SIL’s birthday today, so hubby bought him his favorite cake and I sent fresh garden lettuce and it was left on their garage work bench. We want to stay far away from that entire family. Hubby picked up Chinese for lunch. Haven’t had that forever. Between lunch, the rain and the minimal sleep, it was definitely nap time. I guess there was a school shooting in Texas today. The details are still fuzzy; it may be that the shooting was someplace else and the shooter hid in the school. When will this senseless violence end? The world needs a time out, regroup and calm down period. No other news. Thanks for visiting. Stop and smell the roses (and peonies.)
“Once lively peonies now
wind-weary, and ragged
at the edges, hang their heavy
crowns; rain on their backs,
one final act, before
detaching from the stem
and falling down.” - Kristen Henderson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.