Boomerang

By Boomerang

Blipping brilliant day

It was a bit damp and misty to begin the day and, due to road works, I had to drive the long way round to Tobermory to deliver the latest community contribution to the Mull and Iona Foodbank before 12 noon. Task successfully completed, I made my way to my next “appointment” to meet up with fellow blipper 60plus who was sailing into Tobermory harbour shortly after 12. We had never met before and hadn’t made any means of recognising each other, such as a red carnation clenched in the teeth or a folded copy of the Times under the arm. It transpired that none of that was necessary because who else would be striding along the pontoon at the allocated time, wearing purple, but 60 plus?
I was invited aboard to indulge in coffee and cake and meet the rest of the crew. What an amazing hour of coincidences! Chatting with four lovely folk whom I had never met before, we discovered several shared friends and acquaintances, from different stages of our lives. Life is very strange indeed!
Sadly, the time passed far too quickly and I made my way back home, only to fall into another black hole of time, just like yesterday. This time, the roadworks had moved closer to Tobermory and I had to wait a bit longer, but it didn’t matter as the sun was shining, I had a very good book to read, and more potholes were being repaired.
A walk with Bertie, followed by some gardening, followed by delicious homemade pizza with friends P and A rounded off a most enjoyable day. 
Extra: the Waverley, the last sea-going passenger-carrying paddle steamer in the world gave a soft blast of her hooter as she sailed into Tobermory Bay to tie up at the pier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.