Piazza Pal

I had to re-use my post from last year about the piazza set up, it's just what I'm feeling this year too...

Piazza cleaned and set up for the house's 119th 120th summer. It's like adding another room, yearly excitement, and dinner on the piazza. It's my childhood between screens, my mind flashing back to warm nights lit by fireflies or overhead light. Parcheesi board unfolded, Nora, Gordon and young Betsey gathered close. The game played by my grandparents since their honeymoon begins again. Muted thumping of dice rolling around in the little cardboard shakers drowning out the crickets and night noises, summer between screens once again.

Last year's geranium looked better than this year's wintered-over one, but it will adjust. Max had his turn to enjoy the air this morning. I'm relaxing with Raspberry now after groceries and laundry business. T scrubbed all the winter grim away from the piazza & deck yesterday. A huge job. I set up the piazza fixings this morning after my errands were done. I'm stiff, these chores get harder each year!

For the Record,
This day came in cool and bright. Perfect temps now, but heat and humidity are on teh way. I have a big Garden Club activity this week that will take chunks of the rest of the week... and I hate heat & humidity. The event is inside, but I need flowers on Thursday and heat and flowers don't mix well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.