Buttercups and hills

Grasmere in the sunshine. A lovely day and not too many people around in the Lake District . . . . yet!

We started off at Lakeland for breakfast - I do love their cheese and chive soufflé. Only bought three things - all things I had gone in for . . . must be a first. 

Headed for Grasmere and I wandered the lovely little bookshop and then the Jigsaw shop (Barney’s Newsbox), which never ceases to amaze me however many times I go there. They say they have the full range from all the major companies and I can well believe it . . . how to choose? I did choose!

Gordon meanwhile had walked a bit and then queued at the Gingerbread shop. 


I am so impressed with the way the Hay Festival Box Office has dealt with my cancelled tickets. I rang to explain that I knew about their no refund policy, but some of the tickets are for sold out events and I didn’t want others to miss out. This wonderful lady said she would see what she could do. She has now resold and refunded me quite a few of the tickets, I am delighted as I thought I had lost the lot. Then she offered me a complementary Online Pass, which I was just going to buy. How is that for thoughtfulness! A bit different from dealing with other ticket agencies, where you cannot even get through to a person, never mind one who thinks outside the box. 

(Two more books tomorrow.) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.