CrocusMan

By TonyG

Tis the Season

As the old rhyme goes, March winds and April showers give way to May flowers.  It's certainly been a good year for many of the local wildflowers here.  Gorse and May blossom in particular seem to have put on a superabundant display.  There was a lot to see along the lane at Rhydyronen this morning on our dog walk.  The shade of trees was welcome in the strong sunshine but the dogs still enjoyed a run in the ball field after the walk.

Back home I pressed on with work on and around my new raised bed out front.  There's a lot more to do to bring everything under control but it is stating to come together.  An extra pic shows the re-sited troughs and the pea stone over membrane that I am using to slowly replace the grass.   I broke for lunch and for a trip to Jamie's to bring back his recliner chair which no longer fits in as he's been rearranging things.  His flat looks good and while I find the chair comfy it will be especially good to have it when my Mum comes to stay next month.

After tea, at Jamie's, I spent a couple of hours at pottery building a new creation, another plant pot holder.  This is the first I've made using stoneware.  I made it using a fairly thick slab of clay into which I carved out a pattern, once assembled  I cut the design much more deeply in the clay.  I'm hoping for a striking result using a glaze which should colour the raised and sunken areas quite differently.  We'll find out how it goes in a few weeks time.

Jamie's away for a few days now but I'm working a lot so no peace for the wicked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.