The Trials of Life

The day started in unfortunate fashion.   It seems it's not only six year olds who should not be allowed to cut their own hair - extra pic.   Perhaps from there things could only get better so getting the car problem sorted with same day service was a bonus - although the cost was rather more than my bonus last year.   An hour cutting the grass made the front garden look tidier, I don't have much grass but having left it to grow thus far this year, it needed me to go around on hands and knees with the shears.   Mostly narrow strips, I plan to be rid of all of it later this year if my plans for the planting come to fruition.  

Todays blip is a Dodecatheon I raised from seed, probably Dodecatheon meadia.  Dodecatheon are known as Shooting Star in their native United Sates and are (seemingly unlikely) members of the Primula family.   The flowers, with their swept back petals resemble those of Cyclamen, also member of the Primula tribe.  They always seem to be a magnet for greenfly here.

An afternoon mostly with Jamie.   He's off to see Aaron, Clara and then Ruth, starting out tomorrow with the long trip to Poole on the trains.   He's good at organising himself although like me there's usually one thing that gets forgotten!    Hopefully we'll remember what it is in the morning before he goes :-)    A week on my own at home ahead - whatever will I do with myself.

Note to self: Check there is a guide comb attached to the clippers before starting the haircut.   

Now.  Where's my hat?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.