Kipsie

By Kipsie

Tamus communis

Black bryony. Beautiful flowers, followed by glossy scarlet poisonous, fatal if eaten. Cattle can become addicted to black briony, sometimes dieing as a result. In the Middle Ages the berries were thought capable of removing freckles.
Jan & I saw Nightjars in flight & heard plenty of churring, but did'nt manage to capture them on our cameras. Did manage to snap a male Stonechat in silhouette, so I'm happy. Flipping midges were a bit distracting.. Argh!!
Today... I spent some time on the plot - planted dill seedlings, & beetroot, well, labelled beetroot, but I have my doubts, seedlings. We'll see. :-).I cut the plastic netting down to make cloche protection, being constantly watched by the resident pheasant. They are obviously used to lots of Sshooos as they did'nt even bat an eyelid. Gave all the veg a good watering as this glorious weather is forecast to continue well into next week. I turned a small piece of ground. I'm running out of space so need to get Spring onion seed in. I know it's late. The pheasant got the first sowing.
Nipped up to town for the newspaper, dropped it back to hubby, took him a coffee in bed, then down to CK to walk Indie.
A speedy lap of the heath this morning. Back home, shower, get togged up, changed 3 times, I'm cumfiest is jeans, so washed out jeans with a beautifully embroidered blouse that I bought in Mexico many years ago was the result. I walked to Mandy's for my lift, then up to Hennock for Jane. Narrow country lanes, few passing places, plenty of reversing, yay we arrived. Next stop the Tally Ho! at Littlehempston, a village pub, run as a cooperative by the villagers, where we met Jeanette. We all rode together in our teens, Mandy & Jeanette still have horses & ride regularly. I try to arrange a lunch date for us all when Jane is home from Barbados. It's always fun. I had a tasty veggie tagine with cous cous, washed down with a glass of Devon Red cider Yum!
Back home, dropped hubby up to the doctors surgery for his respiratory clinic apt. then came back & watered plants etc. in the greenhouse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.