Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Cornwall Adventure Day 8 - Homeward Bound

After a relaxing breakfast with the group (no 4:30am start today!), I started heading for home, though I only got as far as Lanhydrock just outside Bodmin, where I spent most of the day. The house was virtually destroyed by fire in the 1880s, and it's owners never recovered from the loss, with the wife dying 8 days later and her husband within the year. However, their son had it rebuilt and extended as a family home in the arts and crafts style. Sadly their oldest son was killed in WW1, and the family eventually turned the house and estate over to the National Trust.

My last Cornish experience of this trip was a visit to The Hurlers, a group of ancient standing stones on the edge of Bodmin Moor beside the village of Minions comprising three closely adjacent rings of varying completeness, and a pair of outlying stones known as "The Pipers". I last visited these with my parents, possibly in the late 1990s, along with the nearby small museum in the ruins of an abandoned tin mine. The museum still seems to be there but was firmly locked up today (extra). However the stone circles had some additions; some lovely ponies and their foals who wobbled around on spindly legs before collapsing in a heap for a little rest!


I eventually, and reluctantly, hit the road for my almost 3.5hour journey home. As I had hoped, by leaving late on this bank holiday/ half term weekend I had an uneventful and relaxing journey; not so I suspect for the travellers heading in the opposite direction. I don't think I will be going to far this weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.