ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Yoga on the beach

Having not slept terribly well, it was a fair old effort to get myself over to Shandwick for about 11am. Mind you, we'd already been out on a shopping expedition by that time, to get a masonry drill bit and a hoe. We accidentally also purchased some plants. Well, it would have been rude not to. They will go in the ground tomorrow along with the ones we brought up from Edinburgh this week. I had also vacuumed the house. I'm more or less as antipathetic to housework as my sister, but as we now live in two places, there is twice as much and it isn't easy to organise domestic help....

The Shandwick swimmers had organised a celebration of being around for about one year (the origins are hazy....). We had yoga on the beach, dips, barbecue, and cake. It was all incredibly well organised. I sat on the beach with a couple who recently moved to Hilton and had a good chat. Mostly about prosthetic knees.... My yoga was utterly pants. I haven't done any for years, and it really showed. I should get back to it. It makes a distinctive, if slightly time consuming, contribution to my wellbeing. Doing it on the beach was amazing. I've added another photograph from the go pro, this time taken out in the water when I went for a very brief dip.

Since getting back around mid afternoon, I've been completely whacked out, falling asleep at the slightest chance whenever I've sat down.

Mr A was out in the garden when I got back using the masonry bit to fix some netting to the front wall to accommodate the rapidly growing honeysuckle. Our neighbour was chatting to him over the wall. Meanwhile, he'd rescued the washing I'd put out this morning when a heavy shower had passed through, but not his shoes from yesterday which I had put outside to dry, which were wetter than ever. I put the washing back out, as it had brightened up, along with my swimming gear, and then brought it in again just before dinner time. It all seems very prosaic, but it was outstandingly tiring.... I am therefore contemplating a very early night with my book, which will probably be rapidly followed by sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.