ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Gardening

I've gone with a collage of garden photos, as we've been at home all day, apart from a quick trip to the supermarket this morning. We've managed to plant out everything, including the magnolia stellata which came from my sister and W, and now both the front bed and the side bed are just starting to come together. Cutting back a number of things in the side bed also revealed what we think are probably some Pyrenean lilies (thanks to the power of crowdsourcing ideas on Facebook) which are just coming into their own. We moved some of them into the front bed. Hopefully they won't object to the move. I'm only slight disappointed that I didn't have time to do some more clearing on the high level bed around the front, which is full of grass and the random geraniums which were everywhere before we cleared them out of the front bed. However, I ran out of bin bags for the waste, having easily filled the brown bin. We do need to make a trip down to the recycling centre with the large quantities of additional waste in the garage. It is amazing how much we have cleared out of the garden and there is still plenty more to come.

The day had started quite grey, but got much brighter in the afternoon and so after dinner we sat out for a while around the back in the evening sun, contemplating how we might redesign the back garden for best effect. A number of ideas are in play. It was great to start appreciating this part of the garden - so much pleasanter now Mr A has been at it with his pressure washer as well as the lawnmower. When I sold my house in Leeds in 2005 and moved to Edinburgh into a flat, I remember declaring to Mr A that if I was never responsible for a garden again, I would be quite happy. It's possible that one should never say never....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.