Everyday Life

By Julez

Skeggy Beach!

I had to be up before Brian left for work today as our new freezer was due to be delivered by Curry's between 7 and 10 AM. It arrived at 9.30 AM. Being up early meant I got a few small jobs done. 

I called the hospital to be told that my Dad was en route for Skegness hospital, and after Brian was home and we'd had lunch we set off for Skeggy ourselves so I could take him the stuff I'd got from his home yesterday, and check he was settling in OK.

The hospital website said that the place was open 24/7. I could not find anything else about visiting hours and took that to mean that they were open-ended. No! Visiting is between 2 and 4 PM and 6 and 8PM. I arrived at just after 3 o'clock so did not get long today. I will normally be going by train - the hospital is only 5 minutes from the station. I won't be able to keep going every day now, of course! 

My Dad seemed in good spirits, and likes the new hospital. He has a pretty garden to look at out of the window.

 He said he shared a transit ambulance with an "old lady" (He's 92, so Goodness knows how old she must have been). She was going on to Mablethorpe. The woman driving the ambulance was, according to my dad, taught to drive by Jezza Clarkson and it was a bit of a hair-raising journey. He said he assumed she didn't have a death-wish so wasn't really concerned but the old lady was terrified...

After overstaying my welcome by 15 minutes I was turfed out and went to meet Brian. We had a lovely walk on the beach and I took my photos on my phone. My camera remained in the car as Brian had had to park too far away for us to fetch it! 

We had our tea there - Brian had fish and chips and I had doughnuts with ice cream as I was craving something sweet! They were delicious! This means there's no washing up to do tonight - Yay!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.