Half Way Bay

The paddleboard in kayak mode in Tyninghame Bay this evening. With high tide at 5pm, I put in at Belhaven and sailed out under the bridge :)

The wind was fairly stiff easterly and I was blown along to Tyninghame Bay. My plan was to ride in, experience the Bay from the water for the first time and head home. It's great when a plan comes together.

Big Bay Break.

The paddle back into the wind was very, very hard. It's 2 miles from Belhaven around the coast and into this spot in the Bay, and I crawled along the return route, fighting the waves trying to wash me into shore and the wind against me. When I finally made it back to Belhaven at 8pm I was completely spent and borderline hypothermic. Far, far too much, I'll not do that again on this little raft. What I need is a proper kayak... Plot, plot.

Great to get home and soak in a hot bath and stuff my face. Phew.

I was intending to be in the water every day this holiday, but I think I've done 2 days in one today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.