Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Bleaching

Before Maggy and I had to give the presentation to the new volunteers at Cardiff Rissole Club, we went to the Sculpture exhibition at Fort Scratchley.  I am glad I got there early as it was packed to the gunnels as we were leaving and no car parks.   This sculpture is called "Bleaching" by Michael Greve.   I think there was a mistake in the catalogue and it should have been you could have it in your backyard for $20,000.  It is made of wood.

Not only that, there were huge pods of whales going past and lots of people were just looking out to sea watching the whales and dolphins which were closer in.  I don't think you can see them in the first extra which has the sculpture by Ralph Tikerpae called red sails III but it does have Nobbys in it.  The second extra is for Ninniex - "Dick on a Stick"  no, it was called "a delicate balance 2023".   That you could have for $7,700.  I know it would look good in Yallingup.  The bottom sculpture which looks like a bee is called "persistence".

I loved the leadlight garden shed with glass and timber tools by Lee & Zac Howes.   The leadlight was really well done speaking as one who has done it.  They are the third and fourth extras.  I have put a few more up and a pano of the top of Fort Scratchley.

Then it was off to Cardiff Rissole where we were greeted by the front desk staff like celebrities and Maggy got the first of many pats.  The talks from me and two other volunteers all went well.

It was then off to visit T in hospital after doing a bit of shopping and getting some treats from Euro Patisserie, as you do.  Not long home now so I hope to start catching up with you.  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.