Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

The Lavender of June

The jacaranda trees in our neighborhood, actually all over the local area, are pretty and I've wanted to blip one. So today's the day. Two of them are in this photo. One in our neighbor's yard; just beyond that is the small one in our front yard with the stone chimney. The jacaranda always reminds me of graduation season. I'll explain that next week.

Last night's high school graduation and celebration dinner were fun. We both took lots of photos of Emerson and his class. As the graduates entered, the cheers of excitement were contagious with lots of proud parents and family members in the audience. The principal had all the students who had taken any college classes while attending JFK Middle College High School stand and that was encouraging for me to see. Then as each student crossed the stage the graduate's name was said and the number of college units he or she had completed was announced. I had no idea that Emerson, our grandson, had completed 22 units. Good for him. Thanks for everyone's thoughtful comments on last night's blip regarding that event.

This coming Thursday evening is commencement at my campus. It won't surprise any of my blip friends that it is a goosebump moment for me. My school goes all out for ceremony, so I'll be writing more about the upcoming event as it gets closer. Our students are still working through final exams before the grand occasion occurs. With that thought, I'm going to end with a poem I wrote several seasons ago as I reflected on the end of the school year.

Semester's End

The Epitaph now is written;
August to December, January to June.
"The Semester is Dead"
One term of investment.
Individual returns with
Yields quite diversified.

Perform an autopsy.
Slice it open--investigate.
Inspect the results;
Dissect its molecular, biological, and
Wrap up the examination;
Turn in the grades.

What's really known is not recorded.
Not dead, but hibernating,
Like seed buried in the ground.
Prepositions, conjunctions, and interjections
Will blossom in the field.

What's been gained
Will be told on another date.
Accomplishment's sure measure
Lies hidden in the future.


It's not great poetry, but at that moment and again at this one, I was sure that my students had gained more than any of us could prove and that the evidence would be in their future work.

It is now a spectacular cloud-filled early evening in Southern California. We are on the threshold of the first weekend in June. Enjoy every minute of it. Till tomorrow -- take care.

Rosie, (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.