This'n'That

By Nanzy19

Phytoplankton bloom with rust

I added an extra of the orange pattern in the bay on May 20, and a woman had told me then it was from the pulp and paper mill across the water. I thought that was odd and thought that maybe it was red tide. It turns out that it's likely a harmless phytoplankton bloom according to an article in the Times Colonist. Apparently it's safe to swim in, but I doubt I'd take a dip in it! I took this one from the dock down Xwaaqw'um this morning. It's a very vivid orange along the shore. I think that the rusty piece of metal on the dock has somehow been moved here from the beach where my rusty ball used to be. Of course it caught my eye. On May 20, the bloom was out in the bay but it's now all along the shore. 
I watered the garden then had a great walk and saw only one other group of walkers with dogs and kids. Our neighbour Buffy dropped over shortly after I got home and gifted me veggie starters: two tomatoes, two cabbages, three broccoli, and also two dahlias. I haven't grown cabbages and broccoli before, so I'm keen to give them a go. It's always great to see her. I asked her if she was interested in the potting table that G made for me a few years ago and the chiminea that we haven't used for some time. She was, so we'll be delivering them soon. Great that someone will use them! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.