Blips by cb

By cbimages

It works!

I've been working towards trying out focus stacking for a while, but I've only just now managed to get it to work.  This is the result of 15 frames with 5 step intervals (whatever that means) between focus points, with first frame focused on the nearest tin.  I loaded those 15 images into Affinity Photo (a very reasonably priced alternative to Photoshop) and started a Focus Merge.  So it means that the nearest and furthest elements in the photo are in focus, instead of the front or the back being out of focus.

The facility to take several frames with the focus on different parts of each frame has been in all my cameras for years, but this is my first determined attempt at it, and of course only after YouTube helped me out :-)

I know, it's not very exciting to look at – the tidiest part of the workshop of my garage – but one small step . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.