A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Remembrance

Today is Memorial Day here in the US. Most associate it with a long weekend, a day of travel from another destination, cookouts, the unofficial kickoff to summer, displaying the American flag, gathering with family and friends, maybe even some fireworks • It is all of those things but it’s also a solemn day of remembrance, of those who fought for this country and lost their lives. There will be parades, gun salutes and music to commemorate all those who have fallen. Flags will be placed on soldiers’ graves, and flowers placed on those loved ones who have passed • Today I included Amazing Grace in my uke practice session, and will be making a potato salad for dinner. In honor of the day we’ll watch We Were Soldiers or start Band of Brothers later this afternoon • Fortunately my family has only lost one person to war and that was my father’s younger brother, Robert, in WWII. Of course my loved ones are in my heart forevermore :) • Enjoy your Monday, your Bank Holiday and this, Memorial Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.