PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

A joyful challenge

Our challenge for today was to go for a walk in the countryside. It is months since we did so, what with colds, coughs and dodgy hips. After a long soak in the bath this morning, Mr PP's hip felt sufficiently soothed that he decided he could give it a go, so we set off together. 

It was wonderful. We listened to larks, and spotted them, too. Although the wind was chilly, the lanes were sheltered by tall hedges laced in may blossom. The strong shadows of trees laid stripes across the path ahead (see my Extra for an uncropped colour version). Thanks to host ApolloFly/Philippa for the topic of challenge for today.

I thought it was about three o'clock when we set off, but the low sun was a giveaway: turned out it was quarter to six! I couldn't believe it, till I realised I'd fallen asleep on the sofa, and it must have been for longer than I realised. In fact I never noticed I was going sleepy before I nodded off! So apart from sleeping and walking, I have completed one more lion granny-square (in fawn and orange this time)!

The icing on the cake of a lovely day was seeing, first, a broken snail shell, and then the first thrush that I've seen since we moved to Lincolnshire: made my day! (Only downside is Mr PP's hip is painful again, but at least he thoroughly enjoyed the walk.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.