The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Bridge Over

... calm but troubled water. 


You've seen it before (I'm sure you'll see it again). It's an easy stroll out to the turn into our community and, on a day like today, it's hard to resist the play of light and shadow, line and curve, structure and reflection that can be found in a black and white photo.

Memorial Day's traditional date is the 31st, Wednesday, but is being observed today. There are other days set aside to honor those who wear or have worn the uniform. Memorial Day was meant as, and ought to be I think, a more solemn day to remember and honor the sacrifice of those who saw no armistice and had no homecoming to celebrate.

Today, I visited our friend Ron who served during the Korean Conflict. He shared a memory being a very young boy and watching a troop train roll by, filled with recruits on their way to the trenches of a war to end all wars. It moved me deeply and got me thinking.. Perhaps I'll share it but if I do I'll wait til Wednesday ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.