HelHSS

By HelHSS

Elegantly Dressed Shield Bug

Sunny, cold wind. About +16.

In the morning we had time to make a rhubarb oatmeal crisp, for we have a huge plant this year already now. But we love it. I also had to review applicants to substitute my assistant for her holiday. Later Mr S went to his affairs and I left for a ride. I took a shorter ride today, because has been a bit overloaded, although it's not anything new. We came back home hours later, and now it's evening again.

I discovered in my ride by Vantaanjoki river the bug in the picture just when I was having a photo of the dandelion. I have an age-related long sight so saw only some lump :) It's a sloe bug (Dolycoris baccarum), with a beautiful coat (shield). But it's not very welcome to the gardens, for it feeds on many plants, e.g. on berries and leave a very bad taste on them.

I also saw near there the little ones of the barnacle goose (Extra). They can't be very old yet. The parents kept eye on me very intensely, but didn't seem to feel I'm too close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.