WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Who goes there?

We were up early today, but it took two hours to cram everything into the car. Initially pessimistic, S ended up admitting that there was even space for a bit more. We did leave some things with Gracia, ready for next time. We also took six of her very local eggs with us, and some apricots from the tree below our window.

Off just after ten, but after only 3 km there was a slight hitch when Mystère, who had spurned his litter tray all morning, chose to crap in his carrier. At this point, I realised I'd forgotten to pack the heavy duty kitchen paper. Luckily we were practically outside Lidl, so I nipped in and bought some, and clean-up was relatively straightforward since he hadn't sat in it this time (TMI I know).

We're very familiar with this journey now, but it felt quite arduous. Every time it was my turn to drive, I felt so exhausted after about an hour that my eyelids started drooping, which didn't feel terribly safe. So S did the majority of the driving. And the weather deteriorated as we approached Valencia, with periods of torrential rain. So we were very glad to get here at about 6 pm.

It's the aparthotel we always stay in, only a few minutes off the motorway; it's nice to check in quickly and easily and then just settle into our spacious studio. We always bring enough to eat and drink with us, so we just settle in for a quiet evening. We have one with a floor-to-ceiling window this time. Mystère has been gazing out of it with fascination, but every time he sees someone walking along the street two floors below, he flees under the bed.

An early night tonight I think, so I'm in a better state for tomorrow's drive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.