Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Ten Years After

It seems this might just be my 3,650th blip.  Although that's ten years worth, it's a bit more than Ten Years After my first blip but who's counting?  Oh, I am.  As any of you of a 'certain age' like myself will know, the single is really called 'Love like a man' but you may be surprised to see it's a 33 1/3rd rpm.  Rather uniquely, the 'A' side was also 'Love like a man' but a studio recording, and this was a live performance on the 'B' side so had to be a slower rpm to fit it all in.


This blip has effectively ended up costing me £13.99.  When I was looking up 'Ten Years After' I realised that the current bassist, Colin Hodgkinson, was in a band called 'Back Door' formed in Redcar in 1971 who mainly played at the Lion Inn, Blakey Ridge.  I seem to remember seeing them play live all those years ago.  Apparently they tried to get a record label interested but were told 'no singer, no contract' so recorded their own album and sold it in the pub.  Somehow the NME got hold of a copy and gave it a good review, which led to the record labels becoming interested and they went on to make two more albums, one with Felix Pappalardi of 'Mountain' who produced a lot of the albums by Cream.  Amongst other bands, Colin also played with Whitesnake for a while, which was formed by Dave Coverdale, also from Redcar, and who I knew in the days before he became famous.  I found out that the first three 'Back Door' albums had been re-released on CD some time ago and found a copy on Amazon; I should get it tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.