Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

HWP day 1, Bowness on Solway to Carlisle

The "Pavilion" at the start of the trail, quickly found after the taxi dropped me off. There is a bus, but not one that went all the way to the start at a time that was any good!

The day began with sunshine yes, but also a cold wind, but it gradually warmed up.

The miles passed quickly and suddenly I was in front of The Greyhound pub, so I had a pint of squash and a packet of nuts, very welcome. I ate my lunch at Beaumont and then gradually caught up a Belgian walker who was on the last leg of his walk. He asked if he could walk with me... I said he'd have to fend off any cattle we came across!

We reached Carlisle and parted company, but it was lovely to have a chat with someone that consisted of more than just a greeting. Stretches, wash the dirties - yes I'm travelling that light - and a bath. Roll on bedtime. 

Food
Mixed fruit 
Egg, mushrooms, hashbrown, tomato 
Salted peanuts
Two slices of bread with breakfast bacon 
Apple 
Banana
Fish, chips, peas

15 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.