Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

HWP DAY 2 Carlisle to Lanercost Priory

Main photo:-
Goodbye to Carlisle 
Wonderful wildflowers shortly after
Sign, summing up the rest of my day

I checked out and was walking by 8am, hoping that would allow me enough time to view the Priory before the taxi to Brampton at 4pm. Actually I got there by 2.30pm which was plenty of time to walk round and admire the ruins stonework. I'm not sure what I was expecting really but we didn't have time to see it last year, so I'm glad I have now and the tea and cheese scone was good :-)

I slept really well last night so I don't know what was wrong with me today, I was dead slow! I've arranged for the taxi to deposit me at Banks in the morning, thereby missing out an uphill start, although there'll be plenty more uphill to follow!

Food
Mixed fruit
Mushrooms, egg, hashbrown
Croissant and jam
Two slices bread with breakfast bacon 
Apple
4 Maryland cookies
Cheese scone and butter
... dinner's still to come but will add later
- fish pie with king prawns, mash, peas, carrots, purple sprouting brocoli 

The pub was very busy, and so noisy, the staff were doing their best but I was at my table for 7pm and didn't get my food until three quarters of an hour later. The noise was really getting to me as I wasn't drinking and was so tired I just wanted to eat. I finished eating in record time, it was very tasty, didn't wait for the bill, just paid at the bar and went up to my room to watch Masterchef in bed.

Extra:
Recycled Wall stone?
Recycled tyres, so perished they're welded
Lanercost Priory 

15.24 miles
644 ft elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.